Join Now

Arbitration Competition National Finals

Arbitration Competition: The 2015-2016 winners

Format: In Person

Chicago, IL Chicago IL

Dates: 01/20/2017 - 01/21/2017

List Price:

ABA Member Price:

Sponsor Member Price:

Learn More

Registration for the 2016-17 Arbitration Competition is now closed.

Please send any questions to

About the Competition

The ABA Law Student Division Arbitration Competition promotes greater knowledge in arbitration by simulating a realistic arbitration hearing. Participants prepare and present an arbitration case, including opening statements, witness examinations, exhibit introductions, evidentiary presentations, and summations. Experience what it is to be a professional, competent, and ethical advocate.

Panel_Logo_Color_WebFriendly  Thank you to the American Arbitration Association for its support of the 2016-17 Arbitration Competition.

2016-17 Arbitration Topic: Sharing Economy Law

Competition Rules and Guidelines

  • 2016-17 Competition Rules
  • 2016-17 Regional Administrative Guide

Arbitration Competition Finalists

Congratulations to all the teams coming to Chicago on Jan. 20-21 for the finals of this year’s Arbitration Competition!

Creighton University School of Law
Alex Demasi, Morgan Kreiser, Chelsea Kenney, Shayla Slaymaker, Collin Mangrum

Drake University Law School
Monika Sehic, Nick Rauch, Jordan Garrison-Nickerson , Manuel Cornell, Philip DeKoster

Liberty University School of Law
Michelle Protzman, Kelsey Pittman, Sydney Phillips, Ben Murray, Pamela Bell

Michigan State University College of Law
Morgan Buller, Sean Dunn, Irene Mo, Justina Shabazz, Brian Pappas

Michigan State University College of Law
Colin Gerish, Anna Norman, Michelle Perkovic, Brandy Vandenbrook, Brian Pappas

Mississippi College School of Law
Ericka King, Grace Dobbs, Ray Young, Caylan Dunnells, Ginger Kilby

Stetson University College of Law
Anne D Boyle, Julius Matusewicz, Julia Boivin, Brien Squires, Prof Kristen Adams

Texas Tech University School of Law
Ryley Bennett, Brian Burkhardt, Brent Debnam, Andrea Nfodjo, Robert Sherwin

University of Mississippi School of Law
Jessica Hept, Madeline Kuluz, Christopher Nocito, Chelsey Estes, Jessica Rice

University of Oklahoma College of Law
Brendon Palmer, Shawn Ceyler, Alexander Sullivan, Kanton Vaverka, Connie Smothermon

Regional Host Schools

2016-17 Host School Dates and Locations

The Arbitration Competition depends on law schools to host the regional competitions. To create a fair rotation of this responsibility we have created the Host Rotation Schedule and assigned participating schools to upcoming years. Please review this rotation to see when your school is assigned to host. If you cannot host in the year assigned, please contact

2016-2019 Arbitration Regional Host Rotation Schedule
*Schools listed in the rotation schedule are not confirmed hosts until they are listed in the Dates and Locations section below.


Regional Assignments

Once all the locations are finalized, each registered law school will be given the opportunity to rank their regional preference for Host Schools. The Law Student Division will use its best efforts to assign each school to its first or second choice. Priority will be given to those schools in geographic proximity of their first or second choice. Any School who does not complete the form will be assigned as space is available.

Each school will receive official notification of its regional assignment. Participants should not make travel plans until they have received their official regional assignment from the ABA Law Student Division and confirmation of the competition dates from the regional Host School.

2016-2017 Arbitration Competition Dates and Locations

2016-2017 Regional Host schools

Entry and Fee Payment Deadline
September 19, 2016

Competitors’ Names & ABA Membership ID Numbers Due
October 11, 2016

Regional Problem Distributed
September 20, 2016

Regional Competitions
November 4-6, 2016
November 11-13, 2016
November 18-21, 2016

National Finals (Chicago, IL)
January 20-21, 2017

Team Composition and Membership Requirement

A team consists of four JD candidates attending the same ABA-approved law school. Two students play the lawyers and two students play the witnesses for their side in each round. The lawyers and witnesses may change their roles from round to round but must keep their same roles in a round.

The first place team from each regional competition will advance to Finals.

All competition participants are required to be ABA Law Student Division Premium members for the current school year to be eligible to compete. Membership is $25 for the year. To join, please call the ABA Service Center at 800.285.2221 or visit the ABA website at