For Law Students

Join Now

Arbitration Competition


Congratulations to 2020-21 National Champions—Fordham University School of Law (pictured above). Full results»

About the Arbitration Competition

The ABA Law Student Division Arbitration Competition promotes greater knowledge in arbitration by simulating a realistic arbitration hearing. Participants prepare and present an arbitration case, including opening statements, witness examinations, exhibit introductions, evidentiary presentations, and summations. Experience what it is to be a professional, competent, and ethical advocate.

Please contact Competitions with any questions.

2020-2021 Registration Information

The ABA Law Student Division Competition Registration is now open! These practical skills competitions offer students an opportunity to hone the skills that students will use as a practitioner through intraschool, regional, and national competitions.

All regional and national competitions for 2020-21 will be held remotely. Reserve your team’s spot today.

2020-21 Topic: Contracts and Warranties

Entry Fee:
First Team: $350
Second Team: $300
Third Team: $300 (if space is available)

*All schools may register up to two teams before the registration deadline and may request a third team that will be allowed where space is available. Notices about which requested third teams will be able to compete will be sent out early October. The registration fee for each approved third team will be due within one week of receiving the notification.

2020-21 Arbitration Competition Dates and Locations


Arbitration Problems and Final Round Recordings

Recent problems and final round recordings are also now available at no cost. These resources may be downloaded and shared within your school for educational purposes. Downloadable and viewing links can be found here.


Competition Rules and Guidelines


2020-2021 Host Schools

Georgetown University Law CenterUniversity of Florida Levin College of Law
University of South Dakota School of LawSouthern Methodist University - Dedman School of Law
St. Marys University School of LawAlbany Law School
St. Marys University School of Law

Arbitration Competition Winners & Finalists


Regional Host School Rotation

The Arbitration Competition depends on law schools to host the regional competitions. To create a fair rotation of this responsibility we have created the Host Rotation Schedule and assigned participating schools to upcoming years. Please review this rotation to see when your school is assigned to host. If you cannot host in the year assigned, please contact erica.zepeda@americanbar….

2018-2022 Arbitration Regional Host Rotation Schedule*

*Schools listed in the rotation schedule are not confirmed hosts.


Regional Assignments

Each registered law school must rank their regional preference for Host Schools. The Law Student Division will use its best efforts to assign each school to its first or second choice. Priority will be given to those schools in geographic proximity of their first or second choice. Any School who does not complete the form will be assigned as space is available.

Each school will receive official notification of its regional assignment. Participants should not make travel plans until they have received their official regional assignment from the ABA Law Student Division and confirmation of the competition dates from the regional Host School.


Competition Format & Team Composition

A team consists of four JD candidates attending the same ABA-approved law school. Two students play the lawyers and two students play the witnesses for their side in each round. The lawyers and witnesses may change their roles from round to round but must keep their same roles in a round. Each team will compete in two rounds and the top four teams will advance to the semifinals. The first place team from each regional competition will advance to National Finals.