For Law Students

Join Now

Law Student Division Council


The ABA Law Student Division Council oversees the general operation of the Division. Please note: bylaws passed at 2016 Annual Meeting changed the executive structure from a Board of Governors to a Council.

2019-2020 Council

Johnnie Nguyen Chair
Johnnie Nguyen
University of Colorado School of Law
 Michaela Posner Law Student At-Large on the ABA Board of Governors
Michaela Posner
University of California – Irvine School of Law
 Zachary Faircloth Director of Legal Education
Zachary Faircloth
Southern Methodist University, Dedman School of Law
Ayat Nizam Vice Chair
Ayat Nizam
University of Detroit Mercy School of Law
 Conisha Hackett Delegate of Diversity
Conisha Hackett
University of Mississippi School of Law
Aurelia Phillips Delegate of Programming
Aurelia Phillips
University of St. Thomas School of Law
Julie Merow Delegate of Communications
Julie Merow
West Virginia University College of Law

Non-Voting Member

Dayna Maeder Student Editor-in-Chief
Dayna Maeder
Florida State University College of Law


Law Student Editorial Board

The Editorial Board oversees and writes content for Before the Bar blog and the Division’s flagship magazine, Student Lawyer.

Dayna Maeder, Florida State University College of Law, Student Editor-in-Chief, 2018-2019 and 2019-2020

2019-2020 Editorial Board

Jessica Gilgor, Creighton University School of Law
Kayla Griffis Molina. University of Oklahoma College of Law
Deborah Sier Huveldt, Florida State University College of Law
Katherine Vega, Washington University School of Law (St. Louis)


Interested in Joining the Team?

Learn how and when we choose Council members.

Current Council members

Find resources on the Council Portal.